Posted on

Richard’s Take: Trade Candidate Destinations

Welcome back to my blog.  Yes, it has been a while since I’ve posted, but I’d like to come back with a read that all baseball fans really look to read…. Where will players be traded?  Now, I’m sure most of you are avid MLBTR readers (as am I) and there are countless rumors on where this or that player will go, well here are my predictions for some of the top trade candidates:

 

BJ Upton (TB) – Now, I’m personally a Rays fan and I would not be heartbroken by any stretch if Upton was traded.  He is only 26 and has a very high ceiling. Personally, I think after the great rookie season he had (in which he posted a line of .300/.386/.508), he’s all these expectations.  Now Upton is probably one of the best OF trade commodities. Pros: Great defense, speed, pop.  Cons: Low average, shows signs of laziness.  I think Upton needs a change of scenary and there is no place better than the Washington Nationals.  Sure, the Nats are looking for a long-term player to take over the CF duties from Rick Ankiel, but Upton might only be worth $6-$8MM per year.  Washington would be great, he would in the National League where he would get to play his brother more often and would play with childhood friend, Ryan Zimmerman.  Now, I’m not sure what the Rays can get back for Upton, but if I had to guess, a B prospect.

 

Carlos Beltran (NYM) – Beltran has many suitors.  They consist of the Red Sox, Giants, Phillies, and maybe 13 other teams.  Let’s elimate a few.  Red Sox, no, there farm system is picked clean after the Adrian Gonzalez trade.  Giants, no.  Brandon Belt, Zack Wheeler and other top prospects are “all but untouchable.”  With that said, the Mets aren’t going to settle on a C prospect for a player that is having a great season. Beltran, however, fits the criteria for San Fran.  They need an everyday RF and can compete for a championship.  Again.  But with the Giants front office refusing to trade ANY top guys, I’m just not sure.  To be honest, I think the Pirates have probably the best shot.  Yes, the Pirates.  I think they are in to win it this year.  All bets off.  I think the deal will be centered around catching prospect Tony Sanchez.  Top 3 candidates: Pirates, Giants, Phillies.

 

Ubaldo Jiminez (COL) – He will not be traded.  Of course, the Rockies are dangling him, but why not?  Field some offers, see what you can get and maybe an offseason trade?  Either way, Ubaldo is sticking around.

There is a small sample.  I will write more. However, as of now, my son is being fussy so I must stop.  Thanks for reading and come back soon!

 

About Richard Janvrin

I'm a single dad who loves Baseball. In particlar, the Tampa Bay Rays, but I'm a baseball fan too. My sons name is Evan, after the great Evan Longoria. I love him to death. My son, not Longoria. Ha! Hope you enjoy my blog(s).